Detail Press Release

August 14th 2016, Sydney, Australia

On Sunday the 14th August over 100 employees and executives from NTT Group Companies completed the “City to Surf”, a 14 km Charity Fun Run in Sydney, Australia.

The day was a great success, bringing together a vibrant NTT Group team that comprised participants from various operating companies in Australia, including NTT DATA, Dimension Data, Oakton, NTT Communications ICT and NTT DATA Figtree Systems.

The City to Surf is one of the largest fun runs in the world, attracting over 80,000 runners each year and contributing over 4 million dollars to Australian Charities. As the the name suggests, the City to Surf takes place along a 14 km route from Sydney’s Central Business District to Bondi Beach in the city’s east.

For The NTT Group, a key goal of the event was to bring together the various members of our extended organisational family as a common team, for a good cause. NTT Group representation was in full swing, with over 100 enthusiastic entrants participating alongside one another in matching colours and branded NTT Group racing singlets.

While some chose to run the entire distance, others were happy to walk and enjoy the moment. The day concluded with food and drinks, providing valuable time for colleagues, friends and family of the various group companies to connect outside of the work environment.

NTT DATA APAC Chairman, Rio Fukaya, who championed the idea, was grateful to have shared in the experience along with NTT DATA APAC CEO, Tetsu Sato, who made special effort to visit for the occasion.

“I am very happy to see NTT Group members are now united in Australia and have come together to participate this fantastic event. When I asked all executives of NTT Group entities in Australia to come up with an idea to promote networking among our people, this event popped up. My dream to mingle people together under the NTT umbrella came true today at City2Surf. I appreciate the efforts of the joint team to make it happen.”


– Rio Fukaya, NTT DATA APAC Chairman.